My London Home

IMG_4640IMG_4608IMG_4609

In the last couple of days I’ve been adjusting to being in a new country, a slightly different culture, a new home, new people, and of course jet lag. It has been a little bit of an adventure and it’s lovely for me personally to realise that no matter where I am in the world God is by my side and I’m not actually as alone as I sometimes think I am. I’m having to learn more and more to trust Him. 

THE OLIVER FAMILY

My new home is with the Oliver family, they comprise of Peter, Gabii and two young boys L and Z (I’m not going to use their full names just to protect them from the internet). They have been so warm into inviting me into their home and their lives. I’ve been getting to know more about the neighbourhood, the community, and just about their lives. I’ve seen where L goes to school and where Z will be starting his first week of school this week. Gabii has taken me to one of the good coffee shops in the neighbourhood which has certainly helped continue my coffee addiction 🙂 

L and Z are lovely, polite, adventurous young boys. They are very good at playing trains, and lego together. They both love to do art and I just love seeing how their mum and dad put their great artworks up around the place. The boys were quite excited about my arrival and created lovely artworks for when I arrived, you can see an orange piece of paper in one of the images above. They’ve been continuing to make me artworks and lego creations. At the moment there is a letter A made out of lego sitting on my staircase. 

IMG_4562IMG_4752

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The weather over the last couple of days has just been great, got to love indian summer. The shots above are from my room, who knew that London could have such beautiful sunsets. 

PIGS

Some of you may know, that before I left to move in with the Oliver’s they told me about this public space that they and some friends had some pigs. Well yesterday (Sunday) I got to meet the pigs, according to the boys there are seven of them and “Chrissy, they STINK!” Yes, yes they do but not that bad compared to a pig farm. The boys and other kids of the neighbourhood are currently learning where bacon comes from and I believe these piggies are turning into Christmas dinner ( I don’t think the children know this yet). 

IMG_4637

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Great idea Chrissie to do a blog. Let us know when you update it on FB . I’ve sent a connection to Marilla .Glad you’ve found a good local coffee place.

    Like

Leave a comment